News Press Releases

Tube Rats podcast announces nominees for 2023 Halls of Fame and Shame

  • Nominees for the second Tube Rats Takeover short film showcase announced
  • Indy Film Library website to feature all films free of charge for two weeks
  • Films screened from 09:00 CET January 4th 2022 include comedy of sexual discovery Shuttlecock and deranged cryptid documentary Attack of the Hodag

To ring in the new year, and celebrate the second year of our podcast Tube Rats, Indy Film Library has launched a new online film event. Consisting of the most enjoyable films featured on the podcast this year, Tube Rats Takeover will highlight some of the most entertaining filmmakers to be found, for free, on the internet.

Indy Film Library Editor Jack Brindelli commented, “We launched Tube Rats early in 2021, because with cinemas still closed, and many people having ‘completed’ Netflix, we wanted to show there was a world of amazing cinema available for free at your fingertips, at any time. This showcase will tie up our second year of shows and help us celebrate the most famous / infamous short films we encountered in 2022. We’ve picked out five golden nuggets… and five nuggets of another kind… for special commendation / condemnation. See if you agree with us!”

From Wednesday the 4th of January 2023, Indy Film Library will host an audience vote to pick out the winners from both the Hall of Fame and Hall of Shame categories. The Tube Rats will then announce the results, along with their own critics’ choice awards, during the last episode of the podcast, before it is put on hiatus.

Brindelli added, “After two years of dredging the sewer that is YouTube, we’ve decided the time is right for a break. It’s been great fun spending the last 24 months panning for gold with Jimmy, Georgia and Jason – connecting with friends old and new, amid some difficult and isolating times. I have to thank them for putting up with me over that time and hope that one day we’ll be able to enjoy more occasional adventures into the hellscape of amateur filmmaking.”

The selections are as follows:

The Golden Jimmy Prize for Best Film of the Year

The Jason Overman Award for Most Enjoyable Trash-fire

1 comment

Leave a Reply