News Press Releases

Winners announced for 2023 Indy Film Library Awards

  • Fourth annual Indy Film Library festival ends with awards distributed at event at Filmhuis Cavia, Amsterdam
  • Stunning art documentary Built Lands claims Best Feature Documentary Film while found-footage fantasy Moerasdraak takes Best Feature Narrative Film
  • Guido FG Jeurissen named Best Director for his work on film-poem Rotterdam, verlaat ons niet
  • Brad Pike picks up Best Screenplay for anarchic, animated cosmic-horror Experience the World: The Train
  • Aletta Bezuidenhout scoops Best Actor for strong performance in dementia-drama Aan/Af

Since Wednesday 26th April 2023, Indy Film Library (IFL) has been showcasing some of the best independent films it has received for review over the last year. The movies were selected on the basis of both their storytelling and the technical skills exhibited by their cast and crew, before being screened digitally and in cinemas over the course of four days.

As was the case with the previous edition, for three days IFL showed an expanded programme of global cinematic talent via its digital theatre. However, for a second year running, this year’s event also saw IFL make a triumphant return to Amsterdam’s Filmhuis Cavia. There, a selection of the best films from filmmakers in the Netherlands played to a crowded theatre.

Indy Film Library Chief Editor Jack Brindelli commented, “Each one of our filmmakers deserves an adoring audience for their incredible work! We’re proud to have provided a worthy platform for these amazing films.”

Over the last week, an international jury of experts and friends of IFL has been voting for winning films from the selection. Now, as its 2023 season prepares to draw to a close, IFL has announced the top films from the Indy Film Library Awards shortlist.

Commenting on the news, Brindelli said, “I would like to congratulate all the winners of our fourth season on their victories. Introducing so many people to these talented artists, who they may never otherwise have come across, has been an honour. I can’t wait to do it all again for our next season of submissions.”

The winners are as follows:

Jury members

This year’s shortlist was reviewed by a panel of experts from around the world.

Brindelli added, “I’d like to give one final thanks to our judges for 2023. They put in a huge effort to get through many hours of film – each offering unique insights and opinions to help evaluate a hugely diverse selection. It’s been lovely to discuss their choice with them and appreciate each of these movies from a fresh perspective.”

The 2023 jury included:

Dr. Irene Baena-Cuder
Department of Audiovisual Communication and Advertisement, University of Seville

Tim Terefenko
Journalist, Canada

Jacob Porter

Marie Vandelannoote
Filmmaker and former IFL Awards winner, Canada

Tony Moore
IFL critic, UK

John Ranson
IFL critic, UK


Leave a Reply